John Godard

John Godard is an expert on democratic rights in the employment relation, especially as they pertain to workplace representation and to the terms and conditions of employment in developed economies.

He joined the I.H Asper School of Business in 1991 after earning a PhD from Cornell University.

Godard’s work focuses on the relationships between the institutional environments of employers (e.g., state policies), employer labour relations and human resource practices, and societal/policy outcomes. He has become most known for his work on state policies and labour law, on comparative institutional environments, and on “high performance” work and human resource practices.

Within Canada, Godard is also known for his text, Industrial Relations, the Economy, and Society, which uniquely adopts a critical, economical and societal perspective on Canadian labour and employment relations. He has also published on labour and employment policy in Canada and has been active as a policy advocate, serving as co-chair of the Manitoba Low Wage Community Inquiry and co-author of its report, Paid to be Poor.

Godard is chief editor of the British Journal of Industrial Relations and associate editor of the Human Resource Management Journal. He served as president of the Canadian Industrial Relations Association, is a former board member of the Labor and Employment Research Association (USA), and worked for the governments of Manitoba, Canada, and Great Britain

Paul Larson

Paul Larson works in the area of humanitarian logistics, investigating how humanitarian agencies create and use supply chains to source food to areas of drought and famine

Ray Lee

Ray Lee and Sue Bruning work in the areas of health workplace safety, mental health, and emotional labour.

Sue Bruning

Dr. Bruning is a professor of business administration at the University of Manitoba’s Asper School of Business. She studies various aspects of work contexts, with a special focus on management processes related to healthy organizations and employees.

In a recent study, she and her colleagues examine leadership in health-care organizations and how that leadership affects the safety culture of the organization and employee well-being.

These researchers found that, compared to health-care professionals who did not feel their workplace had a safety climate, health-care professionals who perceived a workplace safety climate reported lower job stress and turnover intentions after a job-related injury.

Bruning’s research also explores behavioural integrity and organizational change, global staffing strategies, workplace aggression and the development of expatriate effectiveness.

Lukas Neville

Dr. Lukas Neville is an assistant professor of organizational behaviour in the Asper School of Business. His research interests include trust, income inequality, negotiation,and the resolution of conflict in groups and teams.

His research on societal-level income inequality examines its impact on organizations and has been featured in The Atlantic. He is active on Twitter and has been selected multiple times by Leader Lab as a top professor on Twitter.

Dr. Neville completed an MA in political science at McGill University, and his MSc and PhD in organizational behaviour at Queen’s School of Business. His work is published in Negotiation and Conflict Management Research, the , Research on Managing Groups and Teams, and Psychological Science.

Dr. Neville’s other main area of research examines trust in organizations. He presented at the 2015 annual meeting of the Academy of Management exploring when observers trust forgiving victims in the workplace.

Bruno Dyck

Dr. Bruno Dyck is a management and organization theorist who joined the Asper School of Business at the University of Manitoba in 1990.

His research on sustainable management focuses on social and ecological sustainability in small-scale farms — the world’s neediest and most prevalent organizations — and how to double productivity and enhance community and the natural environment via sustainable conservation agricultural practices.

Dr. Dyck earned his PhD in business from the University of Alberta with a dissertation entitled A multiple rationalities model of transformational change: Understanding the ubiquity of change. His present research interests are in the areas of: developing and comparing conventional versus radical management, organizational learning, corporate social responsibility and international development issues. His research tends to reflect his fascination with the role of values in how organizations change and how we think about management.

Dr. Dyck has been published in a variety of journals, including Administrative Science Quarterly, the Academy of Management Review and the Journal of Management Studies. In 2014, he co-authored a paper entitled “The primary importance of corporate social responsibility and ethicality in corporation reputation: An empirical study” in Business and Society Review.

Ruodan Shao

Dr. Ruodan Shao is an associate professor of organizational behavior in the Asper School of Business at the University of Manitoba.

Her research on corporate social responsibility examines how it impacts employee behaviour. She recently presented on the relationship between corporate social responsibility and employees’ voluntary commitment within the organization at the Academy of Management annual conference.

Ruodan’s research interests lie in corporate social responsibility, cross-cultural management, business ethics/ethical decision-making, organizational justice, and strategic human resources management. Her work is published in the Journal of Applied PsychologyOrganizational Behavior and Human Decision ProcessesPersonnel Psychology and the Journal of Management. In 2008, she was awarded the best paper award by Business Ethics Quarterly for her paper titled “Beyond moral reasoning: A review of moral identity research and its implications for business ethics.”

Ruodan’s teaching interests include organizational behavior and human resources management. She received the University of British Columbia graduate student teaching award in 2010.

Comments are closed