Financial Aid & Awards » Schwartz/Reisman Scholars Program

Mr. Gerald Schwartz, O.C., B.Comm., LLB and Ms. Heather Reisman have made a gift of $1 million to establish an annually funded scholarship program for a period of four years. The Province of Manitoba has made a matching contribution through its commitment to scholarships as part of the university’s Front and Centre fundraising campaign. The purpose of the Schwartz-Reisman Scholars Program is to recognize community involvement, leadership and academic excellence among students studying in the I.H. Asper School of Business and the Faculty of Law at the University of Manitoba. Each year, beginning in 2016-2017 $500,000 in scholarships will be offered to both undergraduate and graduate students as outlined below.

Scholarships of $10,000 will be offered to:

(1) are enrolled full-time in the Juris Doctor program in the Faculty of Law;

(2) have achieved either:

(i) as a First Year Faculty of Law student, a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 in course work completed prior to entrance into the Faculty of Law;

(ii) as a Second or Third Year Faculty of Law student, a minimum 3.50 degree grade point average

(3) have demonstrated community involvement and/or leadership.

2018-19 Call for Applications – JD

2018-19 Call for Applications – JD Renewal

Scholarships of $20,000 will be offered to graduate students who:

(1) are enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate studies in the LL.M. program delivered by the Faculty of Law;

(2) have achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 based on the previous 60 credit hours (or equivalent) of work;

(3) have demonstrated community involvement and leadership.

Candidates will be required to submit a statement (maximum 500 words, double-spaced) and two (2) letters of reference from individuals in leadership positions that indicate how they meet criterion (3).

In each case, the scholarships are renewable for the duration of the recipient’s degree program, or until the four year duration of the scholarship program ends, providing that the recipient continues to meet the criteria as outlined above. Recipients will be required to provide documentation verifying that they continue to meet criterion (3) each year. If a recipient is no longer eligible for the scholarship, a new recipient (or recipients) may be selected.

The selection committee will have the discretion to determine the number of each of the scholarships to be offered.

2018-19 Call for Applications – LLM

2018-19 Call for Applications – LLM Renewal